love. light.

theodore roosevelt married alice at the age of 22.
“she is so marvelously sweet, and pure and loveable and pretty that I seem to love her more and more every time I see her, though I love her so much now that I really can not love her more. I do not think ever a man loved a woman more than I love her; for a year and a quarter now I have never (even when hunting) gone to sleep or waked up without thinking of her; and I doubt if an hour has passed that I have not thought of her. And now I can scarcely realize that I can hold her in my arms and kiss her and caress her and love her as much as I choose.”

on the day she died..

and even after years..
“she was beautiful in face and form, and lovelier still in spirit; as a flower she grew, and as a fair young flower she died. her life had been always in the sunshine; there had never come to her a single sorrow; and none ever knew her who did not love and revere her for the bright, sunny temper and her saintly unselfishness. fair, pure, and joyous as a maiden; loving , tender, and happy. as a young wife; when she had just become a mother, when her life seemed to be just begun, and when the years seemed so bright before her—then, by a strange and terrible fate, death came to her. and when my heart’s dearest died, the light went from my life forever.”

when you find love like that, dont let it go before you have to.

Leave a Reply

